One of my favourite places Lombok

Before my memories have paled into insignificance under the weight of my everyday life back in oz I have still some adventures and beauty to share. This one is about west lombok in and around Mataram and Mangsit.

image

image

image

This is Mangsit beach….the volcano is gunung agung on the east side of bali. The sunsets are always different, sometimes spectacular and always a meditation. Its quiet and peaceful and the locals friendly and hospitable.

image

Yes these cidomos (c is pronounced ch) are a regular form of transport in  and around ampenan and mataram. They are particularly busy around the main market. Another form of transport , the bemo is a common sight…its an openbacked van which is happy to transport most things

image

image

And on one of my journeys I traveled with a pan of fish, a large bundle of coconuts and had an interesting conversation with the owner of this hat which he had plaited out of coconut fronds..it was magnificent and extremely useful as this person was a fisherman.

image

A beautiful park to the west of mataram called narmada. Its famous for its fresh spring water and the fact that it used to be the rajah’s home. Its very beautiful and has numerous pools and places  to hangout under the trees and picnic.

image

image

image

image

My friends and I had a wonderful picnic under a large tree overlooking one of the lakes and right next to a warung  which sold lontong (rice steamed/ cooked in coconut leaves) and delicious spicey chicken and beef sates with an even more delicious  spicey peanut sauce. Not only did we have that for lunch,  but we also had brought along some nasi bungkis ( smallish packets wrapped I n banana leaves with rice , green veg, sambal,  corn fritters, jackfruit stew). Really it was a veritable feast and my mouth is watering even now as I type and recall how wonderful that day was…..thanks to ibu febi, pak hermann and their beautiful son athaya. : )) for taking me there.

image

image

Beautiful bougainvillea

image

And the first time I had really seen a mangosteen tree. If you look really carefully you can see the young green fruit. It is o e of my favorite  fruits  and has a dark purple skin when its ripe. Mmm.

image

I always leave a small piece of my heart in lombok …. ♡

6 thoughts on “One of my favourite places Lombok”

Leave a Reply

